Menu closed Menu open

Our trustees


Liz Peace CBE (Chair)

Liz Peace has more than 35 years' experience in government and the property sector. She spent her early career in the Ministry of Defence, eventually becoming a key player in the team that created QinetiQ plc. She subsequently served as Chief Executive of the British Property Federation (BPF) for thirteen years where she regards her key achievement as being the introduction of Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS). She was awarded a CBE in 2008 for services to the property industry.

Having retired from the BPF at the end of 2014, Liz now has a portfolio career with a range of non-executive, advisory and charity roles, including as Chairman of LandAid, Centre for London and President of the Property Litigation Association. She is a member of the Mayor of London’s Homes for Londoners Board and chairs the Government Property Agency. In 2017 Liz was appointed Chairman of the Old Oak and Park Royal Development Corporation (OPDC) and in 2018 she became Chairman of the Shadow Sponsor Board for the Palace of Westminster Restoration and Renewal Programme.

Roy Hodson (Chair Of Audit And Risk Committee)

Roy Hodson joined the Board in April 2016. He brings considerable financial expertise to the Board having been a partner at PwC for 26 years, including serving clients in the property, construction and financial services sectors. Roy is a Chartered Accountant (ICAEW) and also Director of a number of commercial companies. He mentors at the School for Social Entrepreneurs and the University of Manchester.

Myra Barnes

Myra has forty years’ experience in property and development, involved in both public and private sector regeneration. She is a Chartered Town Planner currently working as a partner in a town planning consultancy. Myra was previously Head of Planning for National Grid Property and worked at Olympia & York and London Docklands Development Corporation.

Kate Dickson

Kate heads Creative Heritage Consultants Ltd, a multi-disciplinary practice that offers a range of advisory services to those with responsibilities for listed and historic buildings, especially redundant structures and those ‘at risk’.  She  supports the heritage building trust sector in a voluntary capacity as a member of the Heritage Trust Network in the Midlands. Kate is a registered architect and a membership assessor for the Institute of Historic Building Conservation.  She is a Governor of her former school, Manchester High School for Girls, where she chairs the Estates Committee.

David Hunter (Chair of Credit Panel)

David Hunter is a professional Non-executive Director and Strategic Adviser focused principally on UK and International real estate. He is currently either Chairman or Non-executive Director of various companies, listed and unlisted, overseeing investments in the UK, India, and South Africa. David is an Honorary Professor of Real Estate at Heriot-Watt University and is on the Board of Dundee Design Ltd which is creating the iconic V&A Museum in Dundee.

Suzanne Snowden

Suzanne is the Director of Message Consulting, a communications consultancy. She was previously Global Director of Thought Leadership at PwC and led the firm’s content-marketing activities. She brings her knowledge around brand, communications and digital marketing, as well as experience in delivering complex international projects.

Ade Alao

Ade Alao is Head of Global Estates at the British Council. He was previously Head of Investment and Development at Tameside Council.  He brings considerable expertise in regeneration, housing and local economic development having held senior roles in local government for over 20 years. His previous Non-Executive Director appointments include serving as Chair of Northwards Housing and Vice Chair of Salix Homes - both major housing associations in Greater Manchester.

Karen Latimer OBE

Karen is a member of the UK Designing Libraries Advisory Board and the LIBER European Research Libraries Architecture Forum, as well as various other bodies. In parallel with her professional career she has over 35 years’ experience in the architectural heritage sector in Northern Ireland and is currently on the Board of Hearth Historic Buildings Trust (previously Hearth Housing Association and Revolving Fund which she chaired 2000-2015) and is Publications Editor for the Ulster Architectural Heritage Society. 

Eleanor Mcallister OBE (Chair Of Grants Panel)

Eleanor McAllister is both an economist and a town planner and has worked for over 25 years in the west of Scotland using both these disciplines in developing and implementing regeneration projects. She was Director of the Glasgow Building’s Preservation Trust in the 80’s and continued to work on capital delivery projects in local government for the next 15 years, including three years as Deputy Director of the Glasgow 1999 Festival Company. Eleanor was also the Managing Director of Clydebank Re-built, one of six Scottish urban regeneration companies.

Graham Fisher

Graham is Chief Executive of Letchworth Garden City Heritage Foundation, a place-based foundation that is the custodian of Letchworth Garden City, the world’s first Garden City. Prior to joining the Foundation, Graham was Chief Executive of Toynbee Hall an anti-poverty charity based in the East End. Graham’s career combines leadership roles in the voluntary sector, local and national Government including as Chief Executive of MLA London, the strategic regional development agency for museums, libraries and archives and Director of London Libraries Development Agency, the strategic regional development agency for public libraries. Graham’s earlier career was in the advice and legal services sector. Graham was a Tower Hamlets Fairness Commissioner and subsequently led the London Fairness Commission secretariat. He was Chair of Cardboard Citizens, a unique theatre company working with homeless people and a Trustee of Cambridge House.

James Bowdidge

James was principal of a Central London commercial and mixed-use property development and investment business, The Property Merchant Group, he undertook a wide range of projects in Central London, of which the £50 million refurbishment and reconfiguration of Sir Edwin Lutyens’s One Finsbury Circus was a particular highlight. In a voluntary capacity, he is a Vice-President of the Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust and a former director of Theatre Delicatessen, an important meanwhile occupier of major buildings, supporting over 11,000 artists.

Neal Shasore

Neal is an architectural historian and currently honorary Secretary of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain (SAHGB). Neal is a Departmental Lecturer in the History of Art Department at the University of Oxford, having been based previously at Liverpool School of Architecture. In addition, Neal is a trustee of the 20th Century Society (C20).

Carole-Anne Davies

Carole-Anne is the new AHF trustee for Wales. She is currently the Chief Executive of the Design Commission for Wales, the national champion for good design in the built environment. She has significant experience in founding and running charities and not for profit companies as well as holding board and trustee positions with significant governance, fiduciary and financial responsibilities. In the past few years she also helped create a new charitable trust to take ownership of an important mid-Wales estate at Gregynog.

Greg Pickup

Greg is currently the CEO of Heritage Lincolnshire, an organisation AHF has worked with on a number of projects across the county. Greg’s background is in funding, having worked for the National Lottery Heritage Fund for nearly six years, before going on to manage the £20m Derby Enterprise Growth Fund. Following this, Greg had a successful career as an independent consultant, during which time he has raised funding towards and successfully managed a range of heritage and community-led projects.