We provide funds to  applicants across the UK seeking to acquire, reuse or redevelop buildings which are of historic or architectural importance - these may be buildings which are listed, in a conservation area, or may be of special significance to the community.

Who Can Apply?

To apply you must be a formally constituted and incorporated charity, community business or social enterprise whose members have limited liability. This includes:

  • Charitable Incorporated Organisations (CIOs)

  • Charitable Companies Limited by Guarantee

  • Not-for-private-profit Companies Limited by Guarantee

  • Community Interest Companies (CICs) Limited by Guarantee

  • Community Benefit Societies

  • Parish and Town Councils; Community Councils (in Scotland and Wales)

If your organisation is not a registered charity then it must have an adequate dissolution clause or asset lock in place. [This is a provision in the governing document to protect its assets. It means that if the organisation is wound up any assets must be transferred to a similar not-for-profit organisation (or nominated asset-locked body) once creditors have been paid.]

We will also accept applications from organisations working in partnership, including joint applications from voluntary sector groups with commercial partners. 


 The following are not eligible to apply for our funds:

  • Private individuals.

  • Unincorporated trusts or associations.

  • Local authorities and other public sector bodies.

  • For-private-profit companies, unless in a partnership led by incorporated charity, community business or social enterprise.

  • Churches or other places of worship, where the building will remain in use primarily as a place of religious worship.